The

Eboard­museum

and its History

The EBOARDMUSEUM was created by Gert Prix in 1987. Accordingly it was the first museum of its kind worldwide. Apart from various divisions usually in national museums which most often are second rate.

Initially it became famous as KEYBOARDMUSEUM. But to draw a definite borderline to solely acoustic keyboards like grand pianos, accordions and also the current generation of portable keyboards it has been renamed to EBOARDMUSEUM on the 1st of January 2003.

 

 

EBOARDMUSEUM Folder

Download Folder (PDF)

 

 

Does the EBOARDMUSEUM really exist?

Yes! In contrast to some virtual keyboard museums at the EBOARDMUSEUM all exhibits are presented under one roof in an area of about 1,700 m². There they can be played, tested, touched, smelled, be photographed and sampled as well.


What can you see at the EBOARDMUSEUM?

Right now there are about 1,700 exhibits, obviously mainly electronic keyboards like SYNTHESIZERs, E PIANOs, electromagnetic HAMMONDs, ELECTRONIC ORGANs, MELLOTRONs, STRINGENSEMBLEs, SAMPLER and so on. But naturally there are DRUMMACHINEs, LESLIEs, AMPs, FXs and, and, and as well.

 

Why is the EBOARDMUSEUM resident in Austria?

Apart from the undisputed importance of Austria with regard to musical history, which as we know started several centuries ago, also electronic music did find its Mecca here in Austria at the ARS ELECTRONICA. And finally Prix Gert, the EBOARDMUSEUM's promoter, is Austrian.

 

Prix Gert?

 

Gert Prix

 

▸ Prix Gert on Wikipedia

 

How and where can I visit the EBOARDMUSEUM?

▸ Click here

Das

Eboard­museum

und seine Geschichte

 

"Das EBOARDMUSEUM ist der Ort, den sich Keyboard Player als Himmel vorstellen. Wenn sie die Treppe hochkommen und sich umsehen, sind sie am Ziel ihrer Träume angelangt."
(Michael Falkenstein)

 

 

Das EBOARDMUSEUM wurde 1987 von Prix Gert gegründet. Somit war es weltweit das erste Museum dieser Art. Falls man von diversen Abteilungen in - meist staatlichen - Museen absieht, die zumeist nur nebenher betreut werden.

Ursprünglich wurde es als KEYBOARDMUSEUM bekannt. Um jedoch eine klare Abgrenzung zu rein akustischen Klavieren, Akkordeons, aber auch der Generation der Portable Keyboards herzustellen, erfolgte am 1. Jänner 2003 die Umbenennung in EBOARDMUSEUM.

 

 

 

 

Gibt es das EBOARDMUSEUM wirklich?

Ja! Im Gegensatz zu etlichen virtuellen Keyboardmuseen sind im E­BOARD­MUSEUM alle Exponate unter einem Dach auf 1.700 m² ausgestellt und können dort bespielt, getestet, berührt, berochen, fotografiert und auch gesampelt werden.


Was ist im EBOARDMUSEUM zu sehen?

Zurzeit sind es über 1.700 Exponate, wobei der Schwerpunkt natürlich auf elektronischen Tasteninstrumenten wie SYNTHESIZERn, E PIANOs, elektromagnetischen HAMMONDs, ELEK­TRO­NISCHEn ORGELn, MELLOTRONs, STRING ENSEMBLEs, SAMPLERn..... liegt. Aber darüber hinaus gibt es dort natürlich auch DRUMMACHINEs, LESLIEs, AMPs, FXs und und und.....

 

Warum steht das EBOARDMUSEUM in Österreich?

Abgesehen von der unumstrittenen musikhistorischen Bedeutung Österreichs, welche bekanntlich schon vor Jahrhunderten begonnen hat, hat auch die elektronische Musik mit der ARS ELECTRONICA in Österreich ihr Mekka gefunden. Und schließlich ist auch der Begründer des EBOARDMUSEUMs, Prix Gert, Österreicher.

 

Prix Gert?

 

Gert Prix

 

▸ Prix Gert in der Wikipedia

 

Wie und wo kann man das EBOARDMUSEUM besuchen?

▸ Hier klicken